Post #22: The great thing about blogging…

What’s the best thing about writing a blog? That’s an open question.

Why do you blog? Why bother?

I’ll tell you why I do it…

I have 3 blogs. Yes, 3 blogs!

I love cocktails, making them, serving them, but mostly drinking them!
I love cocktails, making them, serving them, but mostly drinking them!

My first ever blog, my first entry into the blogosphere, was The Fervent Shaker – my cocktail and spirit based blog. At the time of starting it, something was missing from my life and I found it: writing about one of my passions. I love cocktails, and I love almost all spirits (except whisky, I’m not a fan of that stuff at all!).

So I started writing about the drinks I made, spirits I tried and generally anything that took my fancy and got people drunk. And it does pretty well for itself. It’s not monetised, I just write for fun. And to help me learn new things…

Which leads me onto blog #2: The Nanite Solution – a science/science fiction hybrid blog.

With this blog I wanted to keep my brain fresh. And use some of the knowledge I gained whilst studying for my degree in geography and geology.

I also write short stories (sci fi) and am in the long process of writing my full length novel. I even have a side project (graphic novel) with a friend – you guessed it: sci fi.

Earth from space: A perfect vantage point for my science/sci fi blog!
Earth from space: A perfect vantage point for my science/sci fi blog!

I mainly post about current science – to help people understand our planet and try to share some respect and love for all things planet earth.

There are some good reasons for blogging, above, but ‘hating to love blog’ does not fit into any of them. I started ‘Hating to love blog’ because I was heartbroken and didn’t have anyone to talk to. Or at least any one I wanted to talk to.

I started it up because I wanted to write down exactly how I felt and how I feel now, without giving that information out to people who know me.

I find it hard to trust people fully, and if you’ve read any of my earlier posts (pretty much anything since before this week) you’ll see I also find it hard to control my feelings. I working on both of those but there is one person in my life I trust enough to talk to and that’s ‘K’ – the closest thing to a best friend I have. Yet I know that there’s limit that I can tell her – because I’m worried she’ll get annoyed with my constant over thinking.

So I started this blog. I don’t share this blog on social media, it was meant as a secret blog. And yet somehow I have received likes, follows and even comments from people like you (yes you – you reading this right now!).

That’s feels great, to know people like what I write. That’s not why I do it. But it feels great all the same!

I suppose the point of this post is to ask people why you blog? Why do you do what you do? I know I feel better after every post. Like a weight is lifted from my shoulders. But why do you blog?

I’m just interested to find out what makes you all tick!

5 thoughts on “Post #22: The great thing about blogging…

  1. I’m a total nerd, and can’t help it. I have tons of stories that run around in my head, and am working to (finally) get one of those stories out into the world. I created my blog (CLOVERAmerica.net) in that endeavor. Essentially, it’s a prologue, serialized literature leading to the opening moments of my manuscript if/when that gets published. I blog because of the freedom it allows. I get to put my voice out there, and if others don’t like it, that’s fine. They can move on. I have however, been shocked by the positive feedback I’ve received thus far. I’m sorry you don’t have more people to talk to. personally, I’m pretty anti-social, but that stems from my general dislike of most people, at least in this town (Vegas). I’d say, keep doing what brings you joy. If others don’t like it, it won’t impact them. For those who do like it, I think it’s great. Best of luck to you and can’t wait to see what you post in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the comment! Your blog looks great, i’ll have to have a more in depth look tomorrow afternoon but it does look great!
      Isn’t odd how many people out their appreciate your work? It’s nice to write as freely as a blog allows – thank you and hopefully it doesn’t get too dull haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read a bit more about your blog and say kudos to you! I couldn’t find a way to comment on your about page. So, I’ll just leave it here. I’d say be yourself, and if you want to be open and discuss everything, you’ll find a woman who appreciates it. Trust me! Most of us are looking for that too. Open communication, discussing your feelings, and being honest are very much at the top of our lists! So, best of luck to you!!! I’m sure it’ll work out when you come across the right person.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope I find that person, but until then i’ll keep on going with this blog – it sure does help! Thank you for following also – it means a lot to me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

